Newspaper Stories on the Formation of the Capital Athletic Conference


Formed in 1989, the Capital Athletic Conference (CAC) is a 10-member coalition of four-year, co-educational institutions promotes intercollegiate athletic competition among schools located in close geographic proximity that have similar educational and athletic philosophies. The CAC strives to develop a harmony of good feeling and a spirit of competitive sportsmanship, fellowship, and uniformity of practice among member institutions. Conference members are required to operate their intercollegiate athletic programs under the highest ethical standards and to maintain a program consistent with the overall educational philosophy of the member institutions.

Charter members were: The Catholic University of America, Gallaudet University, Mary Washington College, Marymount University, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, and York College of Pennsylvania.

Goucher College was accepted for membership in 1991 and Salisbury University was accepted in 1993, Stevenson University (formerly Villa Julie College) and Hood College were accepted in December 2005. Wesley College joined in January 2006. Frostburg State University joined the CAC prior to the 2010-11 academic year.

Catholic University and Goucher College withdrew from the conference on June 1, 2007. Gallaudet University announced plans to withdraw from the CAC following the 2009-10 year to join the NorthEastern Athletic Conference.

The first president of the conference was Bill Finney of Marymount University. In June 1993, Richard C. Cook was appointed as the first commissioner. In January 2008, Tom Byrnes was selected to serve as the first full-time commissioner with the dual role of conference sports information director.

In 1991-92, the first Conference All-Sports Award, given annually to the Conference institution that accumulates the most points toward the “total” athletic program, was awarded to Mary Washington College. In June 2007, the Board of Directors added a “Men’s Commissioner’s Award” and a “Women’s Commissioner’s Award” to promote the best men’s and women’s programs in the conference in addition to the overall best program. In December 2007, the all-sports was re-named the “Richard C. Cook All-Sports Award” in recognition of the 15 years of service by the retiring commissioner.

Throughout the years, the Conference has produced hundreds of All-American athletes and has had many teams and individuals participate in NCAA Championship events. Here is a list of CAC teams that have won NCAA Championships:


1990-91 Mary Washington Women’s Tennis

1994-95 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

1998-99 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2000-01 Catholic Men’s Basketball

2002-03 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2003-04 Salisbury Field Hockey

2003-04 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2004-05 Salisbury Field Hockey

2004-05 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2005-06 Salisbury Field Hockey

2006-07 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2007-08 Salisbury Men’s Lacrosse

2009-10 Salisbury Field Hockey

2009-10 Salisbury Women’s Lacrosse

2010-11 Salisbury Men's Lacrosse

2011-12 Salisbury Men's Lacrosse

2012-13 Salisbury Women's Lacrosse

2013-14 Salisbury Women's Lacrosse

Please refer to the Conference Record Book for more detailed information of team and individual performances.

Chart of All-Time CAC Championships