Home Link Text-Only Website

Women's Lacrosse

Wheatley, Feusahrens Lead Second-Ranked Salisbury To NCAA Women's Lacrosse Title With 12-5 Win Over Top-Ranked Trinity

Junior goalie Ashton Wheatley recorded nine saves and was named the Championship Tournament Most Outstanding Player while senior attack Lauren Feusahrens scored a game-high five goals as Salisbury won its second women's lacrosse national championship in the last four years with a 12-5 victory over Trinity (Conn.).

Salisbury game story

NCAA.com story

It was the second-straight year the Gulls faced Trinity in the national championship game.  Trinity won the 2012 title contest by a 8-7 margin at Montclair State (N.J.) University.

The 2013 championship, Salisbury's third title game appearance in the last four years and sixth since 2005, was the first national championship game matchup between undefetaed teams since 2004.  

Salisbury finished the season with a team and CAC-record 23 wins.  The Gulls recorded 22 wins in the 2008 and 2012 seasons.  

It also marks the fourth-straight year that one of the Salisbury lacrosse teams won a national crown.  The women won titles in 2010 and 2013; the SU men won crowns in 2011 and 2012 and will play at Stevenson tonight in the 2013 national semifinals.

Four different Sea Gulls contributed goals in the first 12 minutes before Trinity got on the scoreboard.  SU added the last two goals of the half and took a 6-2 lead the the midgame break.  Senior Maggie Roundy scored both of her goals in the first half.

Fuesahrens scored four times in the second half to help Salisbury pull away for the win.  Trinity never got closer than three goals in the second half.   Roundy added all of her game-high three goals in the second half.

Trinity fired 18 shots at the SU cage, and Wheatley rejected nine of them.  Wheatley and the Gulls' defense surrendered just two goals the entire game that weren't scored on a free possession opportunity.