Owens, Johnson And Matthews Honored As Wesley Hosts 2009 Senior Awards Ceremony
Owens, Johnson And Matthews Honored As Wesley Hosts 2009 Senior Awards Ceremony

The Wesley College athletic department held its annual Senior Awards Ceremony on Friday evening at the Schwartz Center.

Angie Owens (Seaford, Del./Seaford) of the women's basketball team was named the Female Athlete of the Year after setting the single season record at Wesley with 332 rebounds.  She also finished eighth in Division III with a .594 field goal percentage and was named All-Atlantic Region and All-Capital Athletic Conference.

Men's basketball's Rashawn Johnson (Selbyville, Del./Sussex Tech) and football's Sean Matthews (Pennsauken, N.J./Roman Catholic {Pa.}) shared the Male Athlete of the Year Award. 

Johnson was a finalist for the Josten's Trophy, the Division III Player of the Year Award.  He finished seventh in the nation in scoring average and finished his career with a school record 2,394 points.  Johnson was named the CAC Player of the Year and was a D3hoops.com All-American, while leading the Wolverines to the conference title and their first ever appearance in the NCAA Division III Championships.

Matthews was a nominee for the Gagliardi Trophy, the Division III Player of the Year Award and a D3football.com All-American.  The Atlantic Central Football Conference Defensive Player of the Year led the Wolverines to their fourth straight conference title and fourth straight trip to the NCAA Playoffs.

Leslie Cervenka (Newtown, Pa./Pennsbury) of the women's lacrosse team and Kirk Waldie (Folsom, Pa./Ridley) of men's lacrosse were the 2009 winners of the Wentworth Award.  The Wentworth Award is named in honor of Shirley Wentworth, the late wife of the legendary former Wolverine men's basketball coach, Jim Wentworth. Shirley's spirit lives on through this award representing outstanding sportsmanship, work ethic, character, courage and commitment.

Wesley 19 teams, with the exceptions of the spring sports baseball and women's lacrosse named their MVPs.  The MVPs are listed below:

Men's Basketball:  Rashawn Johnson
Women's Basketball:  Angie Owens
Men's Cross Country:  David Breeding
Women's Cross Country:  Tiara Brooks
Field Hockey:  Brooke Tadlock
Football:  Sean Matthews
Golf:  Andrew Geyer
Men's Lacrosse:  Kirk Waldie
Men's Soccer:  Nick Talarico
Women's Soccer:  Gina Orrben
Softball:  Megan Street
Men's Tennis: Ryan Fish
Women's Tennis:  Kori Isken
Men's Track & Field:  Larry Beavers
Women's Track & Field:  Sontia Biggus
Volleyball: Lilia Brekke